N941WR

Legacy Member
OK, I'm not an engineer and all the talk about engine size over weight has had me thinking.

There has to be some breakeven point for adding weight when adding HP. In other words, how heavy must an engine be before the power gain it provides is limited by the weight of the installation?

It is a bit like the Vette vs. Lotus argument.

Do any of you know how to calculate this?

The simple ratio calculation is aircraft weight -v- total HP.
Yes, but that doesn't really tell me how the airplane performs.

Say you take one RV-7 with an empty weight of 1050 lbs with a 160 HP engine, that comes out to 6.6 lbs per HP.

Now swap that engine with 180 HP O-360 that weights 20 lbs more. Everything else being equal, that comes out to 5.9 lbs per hp.

That tells me the 180 HP should outperform the 160 HP version but I guess what I'm looking for is how well does one handle over the other.

Wing loading gives you an indication of how many pounds each sq-ft of wing has to lift but somewhere there has to be a combination of the two.

It might be that the difference is so small it is not noticeable. Take for instance a guy who mounts an IO-540 on an RV-7 vs. 160 HP RV-7. I hear the lighter -7 will fly better but how do you quantify that?

It also depends on how you define performance.

Some things depend on where the extra weight is. Everything else being equal, an airplane balanced toward the aft end of the CG will fly better than a nose heavy one.

For handling use wing loading. In all your examples, the wings are identical and have the same capacity to generate lift. So a heavier model will require a larger turning radius or a higher angle of attack.

Force = Mass * Acceleration
To get the same acceleration (turn) out of a heavier aircraft requires more force.

The IndyCar guys are all up in arm over Danica Patrick because she has a 40lb weight advantage over them. EDIT: For the 2008 season the weight rule was changed to include the driver. Wikipedia