AirbusPilot

Well Known Member
Hi All,

I need some advices here, I am building and RV-8. Right now I am finishing the fuel tanks, Proseal not a problem:D but I am not sure about how safe and how necessary is to install the antihang mod to the tanks if you are installing the flop tube. Please check the pictures and see what happens to my flop tube when I rotate the tank, if I do not install the antihang there is no way that the flop tube get stacked anywhere so why vans recommend this mod.

PLEASE CHECK AND ADVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited:
Interesting

I used a flat piece of aluminum per the plans and I dont see how the end could get underneth it. Your installation definately looks more elegant, but it might lend to this condition.
Just my 2 cents and I am by no means an expert.

Looking forward to others comments.

I don't like that at all!

I have a 7 so if i remember my anti hang looked different.

No way would I put that in there that way!

Frank

I don't have one

I did not install an anti-hang device in mine. Don't remember if it was the length of my tube or shape of the stiffeners or where i put my backflow door, has been too long, but on mine installing the device per plans was not needed. I could rotate the tank in any manner posible and there was no surface for it to catch. So did I did not install it.

Anti-hang

The purpose of the bracket is to keep the flop tube from getting caught in the corner between the stiffener and the rib and to keep it out of the way of the trap door...a much shorter bracket will do the job and won't let the tube get caught under it.

YMMV.

Mike

One other thing to be careful with......

One other thing to be careful with......

Before you close up that tank, be extra sure you have done the best job you can on sealing the fuel level sender on the flop tube tank. I would pro-seal the @#$!#$ out of it. If it starts leaking a few years down the road, you cant fix it without taking the tank off!:(

Clean tanks!