johngoodman

Well Known Member
I've been running great for 3 years, and then I suddenly started getting "Overcurrent" Faults on the VP-200 whenever I turned on the Trio Pro autopilot. I've checked all the easy wires, and I'm down to one last connector that will require "the jaws of life" to access.
Before I start totally pulling the entire panel, any suggestions? I've got the Trio power coming from the VP control unit at J6, p11. That's the one I can't get to. I will say that the Trio momentarily lights up before the Fault, so power is getting there. The only possible wiring issue would have to be the pin at J6 backing out, but still in partial contact.
Or, could it be the Trio control unit? I've thought about pulling the power pin in the back of the Trio, and replacing it with a different power source. But, I would have to be careful - fuse the power source so the overcurrent doesn't go up the chain, if it's in the Trio. Also, there are other pins in the Trio that could be the culprit, instead. Think ground or servo power.
I've e-mailed Trio on this, to see what their opinion is, but I'd appreciate any comments from this group.

John

Simple things?

Probably stating the obvious, but have you checked the fault setting in the VP-200, and does it agree with the Trio?

I would suspect a short in the wiring somewhere along the way. To test this pull the power pin from the Trio and use it to power up some other device that takes a similar amount of current. If that worked without faulting then I would suspect the Trio itself is causing the fault, otherwise it would likely be the wiring from the VP-200 to the Trio.

Usually a bad connection results in less current flowing, not more. So the problem is more likely within the VP-200 or Trio Pro Autopilot. Temporarily powering the Trio with a separate fused source, as you are contemplating, is a good test. I agree with Mark Olson's suggestions too.
Joe Gores

John,