Ironflight

VAF Moderator / Line Boy
Mentor
There is nothing like a long cross-country (especially a long cross-country in good weather with the autopilot on) to help a pilot understand a new piece of avionics, and a recent flight out to Southern California from Houston and back gave me a chance to really get to know my 696 better. While I have been flying it for several months, and given Garmin a fair amount of feedback, this was mostly for local flights, within an our or two of home, and I hadn't really settled in to it for a long trip. Some features, such as flight plan revisions and long-term weather observation just need a full day to evaluate, and this trip gave me a chance.