Would you use a "turn-key" flight test resource package for your aircraft?

• Yes, and would be willing to pay a small fee if professionally done

Votes: 6 26.1%
  • Yes, but only if it's offered for free

Votes: 2 8.7%
  • Maybe, I'd have to see a sample before deciding

Votes: 9 39.1%
  • No, I'd prefer to make my own test cards and data plots

Votes: 6 26.1%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Greg G

I've been searching the internet lately for some good resources (flight cards, procedures, data redux tools, etc.) regarding a flight test program for RV aircraft, and haven't found anything too comprehensive or "turn-key." AC 90-89B provides pretty good guidance, but is very generalized. I believe that testing your aircraft is a fantastic way to learn the particulars regarding how it flies in all portions of the envelope, and I'm pretty passionate about this work. I'm a career flight test engineer with formal education in the subject area, and am looking to see whether you guys would use these resources if I was to build a professional set... even if you're past the "fly off" phase and just want to learn more about your aircraft. I'm honestly not yet sure whether this is something that I could do quickly and provide for free, or whether it will take substantial time leading me to request a reasonable (small) fee. Please vote, comment below, or send me a message with your thoughts.

Thanks!
Greg

Greg and I have discussed this a bit, and I suggested he ask the membership here.

I personally wish I would have had a set of "test cards" for my flyoff-------but that is just my opinion.

There are people in the EAA working on this exact project right now - not sure the status, but I have seen drafts, and it will be a good thing.

Thanks for the feedback! Glad to hear that EAA is taking this on. This is something I think is pretty important, and believe I have something to contribute, so I'll probably share what I put together anyways if even for free. Appreciate the help!