kentb

Well Known Member
The thread about the Boeing UAV got me to thinking.

What would be the difference between an UAV and a RC airplane?

If you were to build an RC airplane, what would cause the FAA to need to classify it as an UAV?

Kent

I have been building and flying R/C since 1963.

When I build one it is called a Radio Controlled airplane. I can build a flying R/C for a few hundred $$. I do it for fun.

When the Government builds, or pays someone to build one, they call it an "UAV", and the cost goes way up. Although the folks flying them might be enjoying themselves, it is still called "work".

Other than that, cant think of any differences.

I think it has to do with the weight. 70 lbs comes to mind, but I could (more than likely) be wrong.

Cheers

UAV

Weight is not used in military definition of UAV since all sizes and types are used. Backpack-sized UAV to 'look over the hill' all the way up to extremely large birds used to conduct long range recon, etc.

Smaller UAV are similar in size to some RC, but the comparison ends there.

UAV I've worked with have longer range (both in terms of endurance and comms) than RC since RC are usually limited by FCC radio specs.

Not unusual to operate for many hrs and cover a lot of territory, day and night. Are they expensive? Yes-and much of the cost is for payload, not the airframe. Fun to operate? Yes. Toys? Definately not-and I'm glad we have them.

Back to RV stuff!
Regards,
Mike

An RC airplane is a UAV which simply means Unmanned (or uninhabited for the PC crowd) Aerial Vehicle. However, most military UAV's are not RC. They generally have at least some level of autonomous control, aka the computer is the pilot not the guy on the ground.