Sgalvin65

I'm New Here
I've been interested in building an RV for a couple years and finally have some time for another project. I'm a corporate pilot and I'm on a 12 on 10 off schedule. I figured if I could spend close to 10 days working on my project I could get it done rather quickly. My only concern is having a buddy for a second set of hands and someone to buck rivets. I have friends who can buck the occasional rivet but not someone who can be there 24/7 when I'm working on my project. Could this be a potentional problem and how often would I need a helper?

Most of what you do airframe wise is repetitive work - after you figure out how to do the basic steps. That said, there is no substitute for having some who has built an RV, or even building now but a few steps ahead of you available to come over and help.

The best solution for when you need extra hands is to be in a group of local builders and you all share time on the other's projects. In your part of the country there are many builders.

I recommend you touch base with the RV guys in your area and see how they are doing it. Once past the airframe build you are faced with a lot of decisions not covered in the plans - this is where talking to other RV guys become most valuable. Fly down to Dogwood (VA42) and I'll be happy to go over stuff with you.

Carl

No big deal

I built a 6a. I only needed rivet bucking help occasionally and it's easy to work around your helper's schedule since there are numerous tasks to chose from at any given time. I would think that a modern 8a Kit would require much less help with riviting assuming you get a quick build fuse. John

Or buy a kit in the works

You can also buy a semi finished kit and finish it. Vlad has one for sale.. you will save several years of building time.

I'll tell you first hand that you can build the majority of the plane by yourself. I build alone and don't have anyone to help build, hold parts, Buck rivets etc.