AndyRV7

Well Known Member
I was wondering if I could get some quick opinions on true build times. The build would be a slow build 7 (hopefully not that slow!), with no paint. I would be a first-timer. In my mind, I am capable enough to get through a build (not a pro but not I have some mechanical skills. I am certainly not afraid of tools.). I can see having to slow down at certain points though, like panel/electrical, which I have no experience with.

I've tried to read as many of the first flight stories on the Van's site as I can, but most people don't describe their prior experience or whether they went with a QB or standard kit, or even if they did their own panel or not.

Obviously this might be a pretty wide range of times, but I am hoping to get a little better grasp of your experiences in the real world.

Thanks!

There are lot's of tricks to cut build times significantly. I think if I built another I could shave 10% or more off where I am at right now.

I don't really know how much time I have left, but I have 504 hours into it so far.

I admit, I don't enjoy the building as much as other do. I don't fool around, I just knock stuff out. It helps that I worked structures for Boeing and United Airlines for many years.

Build Time

I have 4 friends that have completed side by sides (slow builds) recently. All work for a living, hence all are "part time builders".

Don't know the average "hours" but surmize it to say that the average was 4 years, start to finish, for these 4 dudes.

By the way, it's just wrong to refer to the new prepunched kits as "slow builds"!

Tommy Walker
RV-6A (true slow build)
Flying, 470 hours and "Climbing!"