Darinh

Well Known Member
Sorry if this is posted in the wrong place...I couldn't find another forum specifically for Transponders or general avionics. I guess it could go in the Comm forum.? Here is my dilema. I have noticed that whenever my transponder (GTX327) is interrogated I get a little short buzz in my headset. It is not major but enough to really bug me. I know it is from the transponder because I hear the noise at the exact second the little "R" for receive lights up on the readout. I can also set it to "Standby" and the noise stops. I have checked all my grounds including to the antenna and they seem to be good (checked with ohm meter for continuity). Anyone have any ideas what could be the problem? I consider myself a complete novice in the avionics and aircraft electrical department so any and all help and advice is appreciated.

Also, I have read a couple of times about the snap together ferrite rings you can buy to reduce noise. Anyone every used any of these and are there and rules of thumb about how to use them (i.e. on the power wire of a device, signal wire, etc.)?

It sounds like your comm and transponder antenna leads may be running together somewhere. You should try to separate them as much as possible. The ferrite beads might help, but they also attenuate the signal somewhat. Not the best solution.

My guess is that your noise is coming from RF interference (RFI), although there is a remote possibility that it could be a ground loop or other power supply issue.

What type of coax and connectors did you use on the transponder? I would recommend good quality RG-400 or RG-142 with crimp type BNC connectors. RG-58 might work, but it has a much greater chance of the signal leaking. I had a friend that tried to use Radio Shack right angle BNC connectors (they had a screw terminal for the center pin and a plastic case) for his transponder connections...talk about a recipe for disaster.