patterson

Well Known Member
Patron
"Transfilling" your Supplemental Oxygen

I have been flying my new RV-4 for 3+ months and 90+ hours...what a fantastic airplane Van designed. I love it. :D

However, now that I CAN climb to 11,500 and 12,500 routinely, I find I need supplemental Oxygen to arrive fresh after 2 or so hours up there. So, I bought an Aerox system and it works great.....just needs filling every 8-12 hours of flying. So I went to buy a large cylinder to store enough that I could do my own filling. I bought a 150 cubic foot tank...brand new. That's where it gets weird. The companies that have these products to sell (fittings etc) don't want the liability / risk, so they won't sell you the parts to "transfil" your own tank (since you admitted that was your intention). :confused:

I researched what I could about the safety concerns with pressurized O2...it's significant. I still think that it could be learned and safely done at the hanger with proper technique. I bought the FBO Filling Station from Aerox today, and they assured me it's safe to do the filling one's self. I wonder who is right...? I now have the large full tank, and I have the hardware coming to transfer O2 via UPS from Aerox, but am significantly confused about the advisability of this practice. So, I'm curious...what do the rest of you do about this?

Appreciate any thoughts and suggestions for safely transfilling myself.
Ron
[email protected]

Last edited:
O2 suppliers

Sorry, I do not know much about transferring the O2.

I do know that the supplier of O2 for aviation grade, medical grade, and welder?s grade O2 get it all from the same tank. There is no difference in the product only in the paperwork and cost to fill out that paperwork. So buying a tank of welders O2 is the same as buying a tank of Medical grade or aviation grade O2. There is a difference in the cost though.