JackT

How does one go about getting dual in an 8? I'm a low time pilot with no tailwheel time and thinking about buying a flying 8. I have flown in the back seat of one already. Is training in a 6 suitable?

Opinions, who, what, where, why requested.

TIA
Jack

training

Jack,

You might consider getting some tailwheel training in something like a citabria first, just to get used to the tailwheel thing. That is unless you are lucky enough to find an instructor who has an 8 and does not mind you flying it from the front seat while you get your tailwheel training.

The citabria time would probably be cheaper.

Just a thought.

Tony

Go see Alex D.

Hi Jack!
Take this for what it is worth.... I don't think you will find anyone who will let you fly front seat in a 8. But Go FLY with Alex Dedominicis or Mike Seager if you get the nod from one of these guys in a 6 you will be golden in the 8. I am a low time pilot with right around 300hrs now and before I flew my 8 I had around 125hrs in a 7GCBC. And maybe I am just a below average pilot but the 125hrs in the citabria was just not as good as 10 hrs with Alex in his 6. A light RV with a C/S prop is just not at all like a citabria as far as your mind keeping up with the plane.
Go fly with a good instructor in a RV (like Alex) and you will see what I mean. The RVs are amazing airplanes!!! My 8 is easier to land than the citabria... but it is a quicker more responsive airplane and you have to be mentally as quick as the RV.
Anyway I don't know much other than I LOVE MY RV!!!!!!
And you won't regret buying one, but take the time and money and fly with a experienced instructor it will be the BEST money you will spend.
All the best :D

P.S Dakota Queen is doing great!!! She is still fast pretty and best of all ....ALL MINE!!

KirkGrovesRV8 said:
Hi Jack!