newtech

Well Known Member
Patron
I am a 200 hour VFR pilot with the first 120 hours in Cessnas and the last 80 hours in my RV-7A. I have had my Garmin 696 configured for North up presentation but played with course/track up today. Track up was really more confusing than I thought it was going to be. Should I be working on becoming more at home with the track up presentation or go back to North up, which seems to make more sense?

Last edited:
Track up is what the world will look like out the window. It makes finding things easy............. Track up works for me.

Last edited:
I'm a track up guy, like Warren and Mike. It also matches the display on the job, so it keeps my brain consistent...important for my limited brainpower! :p

I have friends that like N up, and though it appears more like holding a sectional or enroute chart N up and looking at it, it just doesn't give me the same SA or orientation of what's ahead of me.

I'll often turn a sectional so my course line is straight ahead...doing so makes it readily apparent where airports, terrain and other features are with respect to my 12 o'clock. Downside with charts is that the words are not oriented correctly and you have to rotate the chart to read. However, with moving maps, the words are rotated to match track up if you are track up, so it's not an issue. You can read data, while still having the world out in front of you just as it is looking out the window. Works great for weather too. I prefer to see what's up ahead and plan deviations based on what is presented out in front of me.

N up is a great tool for big picture viewing, IMHO. It can give you a quick orientation to a familiar geo reference, like where am I on the map of the US. To me, track up is a better tool for navigating through space, and provides a more immediate sense of what is ahead, to the right and to the left.