skyfrog

Well Known Member
Happy New Year Y?all?

After several months, I have purchased just about every tool I imagined using on my RV-9A project. (Yes, I decided on the 9 after all).

I just tried out my DRDT-2?I can?t say enough about this Christmas Present. It?s my most prized tool. Simply Wonderful!

Drill Press was half off at Home Depot, the bulk of the tools were purchased discounted from the classifieds on this website, and additional items, like my rivet squeezer were from EBay.

In addition, I build two EAA 1000 workbenches, the table for the DRDT-2 and got my workshop area ready for building.

Now the real problem?I don?t know how to use half the tools I got.

Don?t get me wrong, I?m able to figure most of this out, like the speeds on the drill press and air tools, etc. But I have no experience on Rivet Squeezers and there is one tool I still don?t know its purpose.

So what is my next step?

I am in the process of building Van?s sample kit. My first rivets went better than expected, but one was a bit over hit and another under hit. Not bad for my first try.

Then I tried to squeeze the under hit one with my CP214 squeezer and totally warped the project plate. I still don?t know what went wrong, and I did it twice. I also bugged up the drilling out of a rivet, enlarging the hole and other mistakes. I?m soooo glad this was not the real thing, or I?d be sick right now.

Help!!!!

I tried to attend the Alexander class, but my boss canceled my vacation at the last minute and I missed out on the class. Perhaps I?ll try again this year. I also thought about the EAA workshop on riveting.

Suggestions are welcomed. Also, if there is anyone in the Tampa Bay, FL area, please stop by on the weekends and let me know what the heck that tool is used for?

Thanks,

John Edwards
N5806L ? KCOI/KVDF
RV-9A Wanna-Be
Tools Ready
Workshop Ready

:confused:

no worries