prkaye

Well Known Member
Ok, this is embarassing. I got an RV toolkit (planetools.com), but I'm clueless as to what to do with many of these tools. These are probably ridiculous questions, but I am totally new to metal working, and to air tools. I'm hoping some people here can help me understand how to work these things...

I have this 20 piece rivet set that appears to have three different types of sets. There are FLUSH sets of different sizes, AN470 set of different sizes and then there are pairs of "male/female" sets of different sizes.

1) I presume the male/female pairs are for dimpling. Is this correct?

I have this pneumatic squeezer with a 3" yoke installed. The yoke has a hole in the top of the "C" shape, and a hole in the bottom. It looks like the rivet sets are supposed to go in these holes (the stems of the sets fit nicely into the holes). I tried putting in a male/female pair into the top and bottom holes of the yoke, but there is insufficient clearance between the top and bottom yoke tips for both the male and female sets to fit. I can get one or the other in, but not both.

2) what am i doing wrong here?

3) when you put one of the flush or AN470 sets on the 3" yoke, which hole do you put it in? What goes in the other hole (i.e. what will the back of the rivet strike against- it should be something solid, with a hole, right?)

I also have a 4" yoke which is different; it only has one larger hole, which is too big for the sets to fit in.

4) how do you put the sets into the 4" yoke?? For the flush sets, and for the male/female pairs?

5) What is the "rivet shank" for AN470 rivets for?

The base of the countersink bits is threaded. It looks like they are supposed to screw into the "countersink cage". It appears as this cage is supposed to somehow connect to the air drill. But I could not see how to do this. The air drill does not look like any part of it detaches in any way.

6) Is the countersink cage supposed to go in the air drill? If so, how??