jeffkalo

I'm New Here
:eek: I'm a HS aerospace teacher who has inherited an RV-9A building project (begun summer 04). The tail/rudder, wings and some fuselage have been riveted. We're now working on the elevators. None has been primed inside or out. Is it worth priming the rest and trying to clean off the sharpie markered names on the built parts and prime those?

jeffkalo said:
:eek: I'm a HS aerospace teacher who has inherited an RV-9A building project (begun summer 04). The tail/rudder, wings and some fuselage have been riveted. We're now working on the elevators. None has been primed inside or out. Is it worth priming the rest and trying to clean off the sharpie markered names on the built parts and prime those?

Don't even bother on what's already been built. By far the most likely place for corrosion is at the joints between parts. You'll never get any primer in there now. In 15 or 20 years if you start seeing corrosion, fog it with anti-corrosion stuff :) Just make sure that he got the biggies...there are a couple of spar caps and doublers in there that aren't alcad and need to be primed. If he didn't prime those, you're probably doing to need to seal that somehow. Vans or your tech counseler can probably help there.

re: sharpie marks....they'll come right off with MEK.

I'll just tell you what I've been doing lately. I clean the parts with some MEK, and then I shoot them with self-etching Zinc Chromate from a rattle can (Tempo 5605/5606). The stuff is not as tough as the AKZO epoxy primer I was using, but it takes me 5 minutes to prime parts rather than the 2 or 3 hours it took me with the AKZO. Others are having good luck with GBP-988 (sherwin williams rattle can). Lots of people are still doing the whole alodine and then primer over it thing. I know of one guy that's alodining, priming, and then topcoating with a sealer....on the inside, yes. So you see, there's no way to answer your question except to say find your own comfort zone, and go with it.