JoeG

Well Known Member
OK... So I'm still a newbie... I searched the forum for questions of this nature but didn't find exactly what I was looking for. Pictures speak louder than words. So look at this...

rivet.jpg

Does the left rivet need to be replaced? I know the picture isn't that great. And it sort of exaggerates things due to the angle and lighting. Case in point, the rivet on the right is nice and flush. Most of my rivets are flush, but I can feel this one protruding slightly if I swipe across it with my fingertip.

Back in the old wood-working days I used my fingers to find imperfections that the eyes couldn't discern. I'm somewhat inclined to drill this out and replace it. But I can be overly analytical sometimes, and I don't want to screw-up an "OK" rivet if it's not necessary. Oh, and this is on the bottom side of the H. Stab. Not that that makes any difference.

Thanks,

I say leave it. Unless you are just totally board and think you can drill it without touching the hole at all with the drill bit :). I know I was WAY too anal about this kind of stuff in the beginning.

drill or not

Joe - your an amature aircraft builder - don't expect perfection! That looks great to me, I only hope I can do that good of work when the time comes for me to start.

I like your website, by the way. Some people are persnickety and want every rivet absolutely perfect. For the occasional on like this, I'd just leave it the heck alone. Rivets are particularly difficult to get out when they're not on the edge of your piece because you don't have a good way of backing them up. Often times, you'll enlarge the hole or otherwise screwup the hole as you're trying to get it out. I've especially noticed this with dimples holes. I think as the rivet expends, it expands the dimple slightly also so even if you do drill it out perfectly, the hole's still going to end up a little bigger than ideal.

I dunno...I'm from the "we're not making jewelery" camp. Just my opinion.