Rick S.

Well Known Member
I'm doing paint prep on the airplane and I am using the Sherwin Williams Jetglo line of products. They have been great to deal with by the way, providing pricelists, colorcharts and even an application DVD. Before anyone starts shaking fingers in my face, I've painted several cars and a boat with great results, I'm using a HVLP turbine system with a full face fresh air supplied respirator and my medical eval and fit test are up to date...plus I'm a safety guy by trade no lectures. What I haven't painted is new aluminum. SW has a wash primer recommendation or a conversion coating recommendation aka Alodine. My question is generated by the amazing amount od opinions that say these steps are not needed if you scuff the aluminum and apply an epoxy primer. I just wanted to bouncd this off the forums since I'm sure there is someone with experience in both applications.

As I recall in my paint research Alodine adds to the corrosion protection by eliminating sources of corrosion not protected by paint primers alone. It adds very little to the weight and easy to appy. In some applications I believe Alodine is the only primer needed as in some Dupont products. It will save weight and money. If corrosion is a concern consider using pro seal on all lap joints too, as they do in jets. Mask the joint, apply the pro seal then smooth with you finger after dipping in a detergent solution. It's paintable and makes for a fine seal around the canopy

Al

Rick,

Alodine followed by a chromated epoxy primer is a "belt and suspenders" approach since both provide corrosion protection. In addition, alodine promotes primer/paint adhesion. But it isn't necessarily a requirement.