elfiero

I'm pretty new around here and still in the dreaming/planning stage, but I was wondering why I can't find any references to titanium landing gear struts in this forum or even on Google? Considering what these kit planes are begining to cost, wouldn't this be a pretty good weight reduction to cost aftermarket part? I mean, if you could lose 10 lbs for about 1000.00 extra when you've already spent 75large, it just seems like it would have merit. Maybe I'm wrong, what do you guys with more experiance think?
Bruce

As I remember Titanium is a metal with very little flex qualities and thus would not work for landing gear. In fact the SR 71 high altitude photo plane had many panels made of titanium and this had a very low "G" tolarance at low altitude because of the lack of flex in the surfaces. An option that several certified manufacturers have gone to lighten the gear is to is Alum. No, I'm not a metal expert.

Nothing wrong with Ti gear legs, but you're probably not gonna buy a set for an extra $1000.

Last edited:
Titanium flexes ok.

I have a titanium crowbar (yes, really :cool: )and it is at least as flexible, if not more so, than a steel one. I just Googled for "Titanium Landing Gear", and got plenty of hits as well. I have the Grove aluminum gear for my 8, and lost 13 lbs. versus the stock steel gear. I don't know of a vendor making any RV gear legs out of titanium, but I really don't think there's any inherent reason it could not be done.

spingy

Bruce,