larrynew

Well Known Member
Here's my method of scotch brite scuffing. I used a shank from a disc cutoff wheel in my die grinder and put three small scotch brite pads where the disc goes. Works great and is really fast. It's so simple that I'm sure many others are doing the same thing. Just thought I'd share because I hadn't seen it before.

IMG_0670.JPG

That's scary!

Where in the world on an RV kit do you need to remove that much material?
Scotchbrite is meant for light scuffing, not sanding.

Oh my... I'll be the first to say that I've never used one if those set-ups before. Hmm... :confused:

Last edited:
Too aggressive was my first concern so I tested it on several pieces of scrap. Side-by-side with hand scuffing over some indicator marks (sharpie mark and several scratches) to judge if it was "sanding". No discernible difference with hand scuffing but I'm sure if you stayed in one spot with more pressure it would sand.

I have no need to convince anyone to try something new. I just thought I'd share as it works well for me. It was free - didn't have to buy anything new. And it was fast - hand scuffing the first tank skin rivet lines and all the rib and stiffener flanges took over an hour and with the die grinder took less than 15 minutes including setup.

Larry,
I'm just concerned that you may be "scuffing" much more than necessary. You should be able to "hand scuff" a tank skin in just a couple of minutes. All you need to do is the "break" the shine. You don't want to remove the alclad.

Mel,