David Paule

Well Known Member
Saw this cutie on the Sparkfun website.

09678-01_i_ma.jpg

It's an OLED display, about an inch square. It's here: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9678.

Now please remember that I'm not an electrical expert. In fact I'm not even an amateur at that game. You'll have to develop this all by yourself.

What could this thing be used for?

* How about an AOA indicator?

* How about a multi-function warning device? Maybe each warning would have its own color scheme. Maybe the colors can shift to catch your attention.

Could it be the color of your instrument panel when it's not warning you of something?

Now I just stumbled across this display. I don't work for Sparkfun and in fact I've never even purchased anything from them. They're a local company, kind of popular, and I was browsing for things that might be useful. So there you have it: a nifty keen display that's ready for your imagination.

Dave
RV-3B, now building wings

These guys have some interesting OLED modules too, including Arduino and Raspberry PI displays, and some small LCDs with touch control. It looks like Sparkfun is a distributor too.

I was thinking about Garmin's G2000 when I saw those and thought a small OLED or LCD touch module would be a cool context-sensitive interface. The trick is interfacing with the other systems over serial or CAN or whatever, but enough vendors have been releasing specs to make that viable now.

Before you run off and start cutting 1" square holes in your panel, the brightness on this is 90 nits. 400 nits is barley adequate to see in the daytime and 1,200 is when something becomes truly daylight visible in any light, no matter what.

So I vote you can use them as panels that say "if you can read this, turn on your landing light" ;)

--Ian Jordan
Dynon Avionics