seatssss

any one have a idea how to add tie down rings? Did not have any tie down rings when I bought the plane
Thanks
Frank

Unless the builder left out the tie-down mount in the wings, you just buy a tie-down ring and screw it in!

Look for a small threaded hole not too far outboard of the pitot tube.:cool:

You can thread a short bolt in the hole and use it as a jack point, as well. Taildragger will tip over forward when jacked in this manner, so hold the tail down.

...Taildragger will tip over forward when jacked in this manner, so hold the tail down.
Good answer, but I am curious about the taildragger remark. Have you had a bad experience?

I have been jacking my RV-6 up by those tie-down mounts for the last 11 years with no issues and without holding the tail down.

Good answer, but I am curious about the taildragger remark. Have you had a bad experience?

I have been jacking my RV-6 up by those tie-down mounts for the last 11 years with no issues and without holding the tail down.

I suppose if the CG is far enough aft, the tail would stay down. Mine needs additional weight on the tail. Next time you jack your taildragger, lift the tail up to see how heavy (or light) it is.

The RV-8 will tip forward when jacked from the wing hard points. I had to put a couple of sand bags on the HS to keep things steady. Remember also that if you are going to be working inside the cockpit (Checking gear leg bolts) that as you worm yourself under the instrument panel, the weight is moving forward, so you might want to add an extra bag of sand just to be safe... you have a high $$$ see-saw on your hands.

Oh Yeah

you have a high $$$ see-saw on your hands.