Flienlow

This is the worst RV site ever! Ain't nothin' but a bunch of fools taking about airplanes! Where's the Winnebago?s, Jayco's, or Holiday Ramblers?

Seriously, I'm a newbie from Washington just checking in. I have always thought building my own aircraft would be the ultimate stamp on my Man card. It is just really difficult for me to decide if this is an endeavor I want to undertake. I have heard a lot about RVs in the past and have seen a few hear in there but know little about them other than I hear they are extremely fun to fly. I have also been told that they are extremely tedious to build as well.
I have been looking at the Zenith aircraft line as it seems they are a pretty stout (and ugly) STOL Aircraft that are reasonably easy to build (speaking of the CH750.)I figure building an airplane must be like eating an elephant- You do it one bite at a time.
Anyhow, hope I am welcome to hang out here and ask a few dumb questions from time to time?

Thank you,
Justin

While VAF is mostly an aviation site, we do like RV's of all kinds.

spaceballs.jpg

Welcome to the club and sorry about your wallet.:D

Go for it

Build an empanage and see if you like the process.
If your a good craftsman and do a good job you can always
sell it if you decide not to go further. It's a lot of fun if you
enjoy building things and new challenges.
Buy some used tools. Prime the interior.

So what is required as far as special tools? (aside from the average Mechanics tool box)

I know you will need a good compressor, air drill, rivet gun, bucking bar, and drill press. But what other major investments are needed?

Major Investment

There are only two major investments you need:
1. $50 for the Preview Plans for the RV model of your choice. This will answer most of your questions about tools needed, space needed, craftsmanship, etc. See Van's website for details.