cgrossl

Well Known Member
I really considering building an RV7, but I have some questions and concerns before I decide to dive in. First off, I am a little over halfway through my private pilot training. I should have my certificate in a month or two. I have been building old cars and hot rods for 12 or 13 years and I am a Design Engineer and a wannabe machinist for a small company here in central KY. So, I am very confident that I have the skills needed to build the plane. I also have a 24x24 garage to build it in, so I have workspace. I can also use the big shop at work if I need to.

Anyway, my first question is how much should I budget to do this? I want an RV7 (taildragger) with night VFR capabilities. I want a VFR panel, with a GPS. I don't want IFR capabilities, but I may elect to upgrade later. I am just fine with regular steam gauges on the panel, but from what I have seen so far, a glass panel costs about the same, if not less (correct me if I am wrong on this). I can take care of the upholstrey work and the paintwork. I am thinking of installing a mid time Lycoming engine. An O-320 or 360 would be fine. Even with the smaller 320, the RV will vastly outperform the Cessna that I'm used to flying. The cost estimator on Van's website is saying 50-55k, but it seems to leave out alot of the smaller items that always seem to add up to alot of money when doing a project like this. So, do you think I can build what I want for 50K?