CNEJR

Well Known Member
I am getting very close to taking a check ride for my PPL. However, I had something happen that may spell problems for someone trying to get their PPL in an experimental in the future.

I started training in my 6 about last October and things really have gone well due to a superior instructor. Now have about 70 hours with just about all the requirements filled. I was insured by a company for liability/hull during this time. Due to re insurance markets, this company was no longer able to write the policy on renewal. I checked every market that I know to be available through a broker, no joy. Finally found one company that would insure if I flew duel and only with a limited time window. Thankfully, I have just about completed all the solo time for my license and the practice for the check ride can be performed duel. (They will insure as soon as I have a PPL)

Does anyone know of a company that will write a "student pilot" in an experimental I might have missed? I can't see any instructor willing to train without liability insurance, that would be just plain nuts for the instructor and the student.

I will get this done, but only due to the timing circumstances. For the record, I don't recommend my "training path" to anyone building without a PPL. Yes, it can be done, but only if you can find "the best of the best in flight instruction". The everyday CFI just isn't going to make it happen and with insurance markets the way they are....I may be the Last of the Mohican's. It has been a very intense experience, very gratifying, and not really that hard, but just really not the way to go to insure success.

Any additional thoughts are welcome. I know from fellow RVer's contacting me, that many face this issue in the future.

I was in the loop on this situation and wanted to add a couple of things.