LettersFromFlyoverCountry

Well Known Member
Another thread (the one on nose gear taper pins) got me thinking today.... on the subject of reaming.

All in all, I guess I'd have to say I don't really know anything about how to properly use a reamer.

I know that sounds stupid -- and there's a reason for THAT -- but how do reamers differ from drill bits in use and practice?

Bob-

I'm no expert, but the Avery Tools catalog has instructions. First, you drill an undersized hole with a normal drill. I think Avery recommends 1/32 or 1/64 under the reamer size, although any of the next smaller letter drills will work as well. Follow that with the reamer. You're done. For example, for an AN3 bolt, I generally pre-drill with a 5/32 or 11/64 drill, then follow that with the 3/16 reamer.

Other's with more knowledge, chime in.

Last edited:
reamer

I am not an "expert" either but I was taught that its not good practice to turn a reamer backwards. It may not matter as much in soft aluminum but you can ruin it in steel. So as you remove it, turn it carefully with the cutters moving forward. Some reamers are made to be turned by hand and some can be used in a drill press or lathe at very slow speeds. A drill press if you can use it will keep the reamer straight (perpendicular), so will a block of hardwood with a hole in it that is drilled "true" and is slightly oversized so it won't cause excessive friction on the reamer. Using a reamer at high speeds in a drill is a disaster in the making because the cutting edges can immediately elongate the hole.
Dave A.

What koda2 said

Do not turn the reamer backwards!! It dulls the cutters at the very least. Very different than drill bits.

hope this answers your questions

Reamers