Scout

I'm New Here
As a future builder I have been admiring other models through their evolution. The RV-6 and then 7 and then 14. Well done.

I am wondering if the skunk works have a like minded improved RV-8 in the works or on the drawing board? is there an RV-16 tandem bird on the way or is the 8 just awesome enough? :)

The RV-4 is just AWESOME, but I held off and got an RV-8 kit.
My eldest son recently bought an RV-4 from a 93 year old gentleman who was a WWII fighter pilot.
I have not finished my RV-8 yet, but I can tell you that it is bigger, taller, harder to reach into while working on the inside, and the cockpit rails are higher in relation to my shoulder compared to the RV-4.
I should not have held back, I could have been flying an inexpensive RV-4 all this time, and totally loving it.
It turns out that I got a sweet deal on a T-18, which I fly while getting the RV-8 ready for final inspection. It's fantastic too, but a bit cramped for me.
My wife loves it.
The point I'm trying to make: Van's planes seem to be getting bigger, being aimed at bigger people as a market.
I'm probably going to be perfect in the RV-8. I've never regretted my choice, but I do regret thinking less of the RV-4 and T-18, now that I know them.

Welcome to VAF!!

Scout
welcome.gif
to VAF

Auburn in which state?

I am wondering if the skunk works have a like minded improved RV-8 in the works or on the drawing board? is there an RV-16 tandem bird on the way? :)

Yeah. I know what you mean. The 8s really need some improvement. I don't see why anyone would buy one. :D:D

donning flame suit :D

I am in Ala-cotton pickin-Bama, Auburn alabama that is!

I like the 4 but wanted a little more shoulder width because of my husky frame. I am short but stocky. The 8 is a nice bird and many of my friends have them. I am waiting to purchase because of not being able to focus on it.