blandess

Well Ladies and Gentlemen the economy is finally at my doorstep. Landmark Aviation laid me off today for lack of work in the Avionics field. This kinda puts a damper on my otherwise high spirits...I guess I will have more time to plan my machine! :D

I'll be on my way to TX this coming April to start an Aeronautical Engineering degree from UT. If I am not mistaken isn't Mr. Paul Dye and Aero Engineer? I was wondering the job market in TX for "us". I would like to thank the 'Force members in advance for helping keep me sane during my period of unrest. I have had a job since I've been 16 and this is my first time unemployed in 10 yrs!

Cheers Everyone!

Bo Landess

Sorry to hear about your "temp" situation, but glad to hear you have a plan. The aerospace industry has always been like a roller coaster so now you have the first hill behind you. Just enjoy the ride.

Last edited:
Hang in there Bo. I'd not been without a job since age 14 in 1968. Lost a job in January and was out of work for three months. Did some consulting/contract work and am back to permanent work at a better job (same pay) than before.
Sounds like you are following your dream and that is always the right path

The job market out here is still pretty strong in a number of fields. The company I work for has quite a few positions available around Dallas, primarily in software and systems engineering.

I suspect you will dig the engineering department at UT, I found it a great experience (20 years ago :)).

Tough Times

Bo,

Sorry to hear about your layoff. I'm kind of in the same situation as you. I just finished reviewing my preview plans for my seven and we are in the middle of some layoffs. I'm also in the aerospace industry. Got my degrees in aerospace engineering from Purdue University. Anyway, I'm taking my time and paying cash for my RV and hope to start building this fall despite the economy. Good luck to you and all the RVators out there!

Michael