I am a Newby or Newbie (FNG) to the forum but have been using this site to research various questions in the building of an RV-8. I just wanted to take a quick moment to thank Rick Galati for his detailed description of fuel tank construction. Like many builders I was really dreading fuel tank construction and after the first couple sessions, my dread was confirmed. Then I came across Rick's posting related to his years of working with Proseal in the military aircraft industry and decided to try his approach. While I still don't like fabricating tanks, Rick's process does significantly reduce the mess and stress. I still have the starboard tank yet to build but the port tank came out quite nice and appears to be leak free. I might still be covered with the sticky gray-black goo if it wasn't for Rick. Thank you Rick!

Also, just a word of thanks to Danny King for the inspiration and getting me started on the RV-8 build project. I met Danny and his wife Marthajane while on a workshop tour at the National Museum of the USAF. I quickly discovered they were the builders of Beautiful Doll, an RV-8 I had seen at Oshkosh. Following the tour, we were able to talk further and still later, Danny gave me an up close look at the Doll at Airventure 2008. I promptly ordered the tail kit and began the journey. Thank you Danny and Marthjane!

I would also like to extend a general thanks to all the other folks who regularly post on the forums. The information, advice, insights, etc. are priceless. I look forward to participating in the community.

Pete Britton
Dayton, Ohio
RV-8 (Wing Kit), Archer (Flying)
www.mykitlog.com/petebritton

Welcome to VAF!!!!

I am a Newby or Newbie (FNG) to the forum -------

Welcome aboard. :D

Good to have you here.

I would also like to extend a general thanks to all the other folks who regularly post on the forums. The information, advice, insights, etc. are priceless.

Right on.

Pete Britton
Dayton, Ohio
RV-8 (Wing Kit), Archer (Flying)