JSzelc

I'm New Here
I've stopped by the site several times but have never taken the time to learn how to search for information or use the various features available. So I thought I would start but posting a new thread.

I'm building an RV9a and I'm working on finishing up the fuselage and starting on the canopy. I've been building for 8 years and have maintained a separate web site (http://mysite.verizon.net/rvbuilder/n716dj/).

I hope to start using the site on a regular basis. I'm going to try uploading a photo from my photo sharing site.

i-nrrjwZ4-L.jpg

Let's see if it worked.

Jerry

Welcome to VAF!

Jerry, welcome to the good ship VAF:D

Big congrats on getting a photo into your very first post-----big achievement for many.

Good to have you aboard.

Boy, y'all are fast. FWIW, one of the reasons for posting was that I recently cracked by slider canopy while cutting it (ouch !!). I had to order another one (ouch again $$). Anyway, in hind site I know what I did wrong and would like to kick myself for being that stupid. As they say hind sight is 20/20.

Before I cut the 2nd canopy, I did a good bit more research and thinking and have some suggestions to pass along. In addition to my website, I thought the Forum would be a good place to describe my experience. My hope is to save some other eager sole from making such a dumb mistake. When I get some more time I'll write up the post and add a link to it.

Here is a picture of my first canopy. After the first crack occurred, I couldn't help myself and took out my frustration on what remained. It was too big to store anyways!

i-zrskGWn-L.jpg

live 'n learn...'n learn.....'n learn sommore

Welcome Jerry.
I find one of the big benefits of this forum is the 'pause' effect.

....sometimes when you make a boo-boo, you leave the shop, go fire up VAF, and find someone else (often MANY others) have done the same thing.