22Tango

I'm New Here
ALL:

I'm a newbie just getting started - buying tools and cleaning the garage to make room for an RV-9A -- and I have a question about the the TANDEM CP214 rivet squeezers.

I've seen used versions of the single cylinder rivet squeezer models for sale here, on ebay, etc. But recently I've seen some bona-fide Chicago Pneumatic CP214 rivet squeezers (had the mfr's plate on it) which were tandem. Looking at new product (Brown Tool,etc), the tandem squeezers are rated at double the force (6000# versus 3000#) of the single cylinders. Not sure about the tandem CP214s being sold used, but they look exactly the same -- so I assume they're probably 6000# versions as well.

MY QUESTION: Is it a "bad thing" to use a tandem riveter instead of a single cylinder model. Because of it's higher capacity, would I have issues controlling the way it exerts force and over-squeeze rivets (or do something else?).

Thanks for your input!

Kevin
(N4822T reserved)

No, you could use one but I think (from pics I've seen) that they are longer and heavier than the single units.

You won't oversqueeze because the squeeze length is adjustable. Once it hits its stop that's it - it doesn't go any further.

If it's much heaver than a CP214 I wouldn't buy one unless it was a real good deal. The CP214 is heavy enough as it is.

tandem pneumatic squeezers

i bought one (off ebay) -- got a tandem with a 3" yoke, adjustable set holder, and a bunch of sets -- cupped and flat (no dimple dies) from toolsez for about $260 2 years ago when i first started building. i'm very happy with it. yes, it's heavy, but didn't you want to get arms like popeye on this project? ;)