flybye

Well Known Member
I'm buying a 9A with completed Emp, Fuselage and wings. (Slow build). Any advise as to what to check for workmanship problems? I've no RV construction experience though I've an engineering background and I'm reasonably familiar with the construction process. I'd like to move the project along for early completion but want to be sure that I'm not building on to anything that should have been corrected. I reviewed the page on Van's web site. Any other thoughts?

I'm buying a 9A with completed Emp, Fuselage and wings. (Slow build). Any advise as to what to check for workmanship problems? I've no RV construction experience though I've an engineering background and I'm reasonably familiar with the construction process. I'd like to move the project along for early completion but want to be sure that I'm not building on to anything that should have been corrected. I reviewed the page on Van's web site. Any other thoughts?

Congratulations on your new project!

If you are a member of the EAA, use their web site to find a nearby EAA Technical Counselor who can drop by your shop and take a look at the project. He will be able to quickly assess the quality of construction and also answer questions. In addition to this, make connections with local RVers who will no doubt be eager to take a look and point you in the right direction. Check the White Pages on the VAF main page and also Vans' list of builders.

There really is no substitute for having experienced eyes in the shop. Someone who has built an RV can quickly let you know if you should have any reason for concern with the workmanship. The associations you make will prove invaluable as the project progresses and add a great deal to your enjoyment of the process. It really is about the great people we meet along the way. :)

Enjoy!

Last edited:
Tech Counselor Insufficient - Get an RV Builder!