chepburn

Well Known Member
Hi all,
I'm in phase 1 testing.... this morning I noticed that as I taxied out to the ramp, my tailwheel steering seemed a little sloppy. Needed to use brakes more than usual. (It's -11C in Ottawa today)

Anyway, long story short, did my runup, taxied to the button and lined up (crosswind of about 5 knots...right at my limit speed for go/nogo)

Well... the tail doesn't feel right at all. Full rudder both ways, doesnt look like the detent pin is going to cooperate... and, since I am a low time t/w pilot, taking off might work, but landing and having to just use brakes for directional control might be a tad too exciting for me.

Its a scrub. Back to the hanger.

I pulled my tailwheel off...the detente pin was stuck inside the shaft. Heat didn't release it...so I added some oil, and worked it back and forth until it came free. I lightly cleaned and regreased the shaft and reinstalled the tailwheel.

Now, the question:

What do my fellow t/w pilots do to maintain the freedom of movement on this pin? Especially my fellow pilots who operate in cold conditions.

Chris.

Lubricant

What lube are you using?

I switched away from grease and use an oil now.

I just oil is more frequently.

I also knocked off the edges a little. And when I say a little, I barely breathed on the edges with sand paper. I didn't want to make it sloppy.

No problems so far.

Check the pin for burrs and knock off the corners a bit if necessary. Filing the flat surfaces slightly may help also. Sometimes flipping it over may make a difference. Use lighter lubricant.

greg

Park it right

I have had the same problem in the cold weather. I use oil now instead of grease. But I also make sure the tail wheel sits in trail after I put the airplane in the hangar. If you leave it with the tail wheel in the reverse direction the pin sits there in the unlocked position in the cold and seems to willingly get stuck there. Better to have in the locked position if it wants to get stuck.