E. D. Eliot

Well Known Member
Will be starting my 12 build in a month or two and will start construction with the empennage as per Van's instructions. I am a novice aircraft builder and since garage space is somewhat limited, I am wondering if there are any disadvantages to leaving the 'tailcone' build until I get the front of the fuselage built?

So, to those who are way ahead of me in the building process, please advise - thanks very much.

If I were to do it again I would do it in this order.

Fuse
Tail cone
finish
avionics
power plant
vertical and horizontal
wing

E.D.,

Good to hear you willl be going ahead with the project. Order of build depends on many factors. One big one is experience level. If you were an experienced builder, delaying the empenage would be OK. However - as an inexperienced builder working on a first airplane project, I would definitely suggest doing the empenage first. That's because it is a great place to learn all the new skills on relatively simple structures. If I had done the fuselage first I might have given up when I got to the longerons, for instance.

If storage space is a big concern, you could wait on the wings. Mine have been taking up space in the garage for months, and they will be sitting there for many months more.

I will be doing the Avionics Kit last. I was in the computer business, and I know how fast electronics becomes obsolete. I would rather wait until I am just about ready to fly to get the latest engineering levels in hardware and software.

Hope this helps.

John

Tailcone or complete empennage kit?

Hi,