blahphish

Well Known Member
I'm new to engine side stuff so I have a question regarding tachometer reading. I'm wondering if I should get a tach transducer such as the one vans sells, or should I wire my EMS to the p-leads of the mags to read engine RPM? Here is what I'm working with:

Skyview system
Lycoming 6cyl
2 slick mags but might eventually upgrade to 1 or 2 p-mags

The Skyview installation manual seems to indicate I can use either a dedicated transducer or hook to p-leads but I'm unsure if one is better than the other for my situation.

If you do the Vans transducer, it will be independent of what ever ignition system you end up with, no reconfiguring if you change to a Pmag or Lightspeed etc.

If you do use the Vans unit, it is an 8 pulse, but runs at half engine speed.

I have no idea as to the life expectancy of the Vans transducer.

Easiest for sure is to just hook up to the "P" lead.

Tachometer from Plead

Brian,
The MGL tachometer ( which I have) does not work well from a P-lead signal. Rainer confirmed that an engine driven signal generator would yield more stable results. I can't say about any other brand of tach/efis, but the MGL unit is programmable to accommodate varying signal outputs per revolution. Ie, I assume an eight pulse or 4 pulse generator could be programmed to work on a six cyl engine.

Ie, I assume an eight pulse or 4 pulse generator could be programmed to work on a six cyl engine.

The number of pulses have nothing to do with the number of cylinders, it is something referenced to the rotation of the crankshaft.

But, the drive on the accessory case runs at half engine speed.

I am using Vans pulse generator/tach transducer or whatever you call it on my 540.

The GRT unit is programmable to a wide input in pulse/crank revolution range.

P-leads.

Brian, we had a Van's transducer on our -6 and it went maybe 300 hours and broke, so we replaced it.