Hi all,

I am a newb and have a question. I have searched the online forum looking for the answer, but have been unable to find the info I am looking for.

I am sure this has been asked before: Why doesn't the RV-8 have swept gear like the others? I know that the designer placed the gear where they are located for a reason. However, what is that reason and has anyone ever modified the design for swept gear? I sure do like the looks of the swept gear on the other series.

TIA,

Michael

Aircraft designs require a lot of trades and refinement - I am sure that the only real answer would come from Van's design team, but my guess is (comparing to the -4), that when they lengthened the airframe, and incorporated the forward and aft baggage compartments, the wheel simply had to be farther aft than would have been reasonable with a mount such as on the -4. We pay for that with a more complicated structure (the gear towers) - but all aircraft designs are a result of a series of choices and compromises.

Of course, I'm just guessing....

Paul

Paul is correct. I might add that I suspect they also wanted to eleviate the gear leg wobble by incorporating flat stock gear which eliminated that issue.

Best,

RV-8 gear leg postion

UH60Hwkdrvr said:
Hi all, I am a newb and have a question. I have searched the online forum looking for the answer, but have been unable to find the info I am looking for.

I am sure this has been asked before: Why doesn't the RV-8 have swept gear like the others? I know that the designer placed the gear where they are located for a reason. However, what is that reason and has anyone ever modified the design for swept gear? I sure do like the looks of the swept gear on the other series.

TIA,Michael