Del Herring

I'm New Here
Hi folks,
I've been coming to these forums and reading for years in anticipation of some day being able to put together my own RV, and just out of curiosity. I'm currently an aerospace engineering student/professional, and for one of our courses we were asked to develop an aviation related system of our choice. Since I've long been interested in general aviation and more recently experimental aviation, we came up with the idea to design an aircraft health-monitoring system for the general aviation market. Who knows, if the project goes well, maybe we'll actually be able to make it some day, for now we're still conceptual.

For the project, I'd love to get some input from you guys due to your experience not just in aviation, but in actually putting together and maintaining your aircraft. My general idea is something non-intrusive, that would use existing, or potentially new systems to monitor and log information about the aircraft and let pilots know when a problem is starting before it becomes catastrophic. We'd hope to improve safety and reliability of aircraft at the lowest cost.

So, if you could have the system however you wanted, what would be most important to you? What are some of the most common aircraft mechanical/electrical problems that people experience? I'm looking for any input you guys and gals have on this. Let me know what you would want if the system was built just for you.

I appreciate any input any of y'all can give. It'll help us out with school, and maybe it'll be the start of something useful for the experimental community down the road.

Thanks!

Alex,

Email me with your location. If you are in central Ohio, I can introduce you to quite a few folks the fly RVs.

DLZ EAA VAA 27 has a meeting Wednesday evening at 7:30. The meeting topic is WWI technology advances in aviation. There will be at least a half dozen v flyers and builders there.

Bob

electronic project as i understand right?

Hi