butch

Well Known Member
As I am getting closer to finishing an RV7, I figured it was time to complete training and obtain a private pilot's license. Not wanting to do the norm, I purchased an RV4 and was able to get insurance knowing that I am just a student. Yippee! In short order I was able to solo (3 weeks ago). Last Fri I pasted my written and if progress continues, I hope to complete my cross countries in the next week and on to my flight review. I will keep everybody informed.

Background....I flew ultralights for a number of years and worked my way into a Titan Tornado. The reason for the post is to motivate others that might be in my situation. I always looked at the private pilot ticket as being such a dilemna. After buying an RV4 and getting an instructor I pushed through at a rapid rate. The RV4 is an incredible airplane and people don't need to be scared of it.

Jim (Butch)
Purchased RV4 and Flying - 30 hours
RV7 working on finishing kit - 360 constant speed prop

Congrats and good job!!. And I thought it was hard to find transition training!! It's awesome you found someone to give primary in the -4.

X-country required for pp-sel in the 4 will take what, 40 minutes? No time to even make a flight log or drift off course at RV speeds. Better make it 400 miles and turn off the gps :p

Congratulations

Great, just great.
My buddy is in almost the exact same situation as you with his -4 almost done and he is a student pilot with 250 or so hours in Titans, Zenith CH 100 and a few dual in my -6A. This will definitely be very encouraging for him to read, not that he's worried but having someone like you to read about is great.

Congratulations,
Pierre