Toddav8r

This is my first posting after a few years of perusing the RV lists. I'm getting ready to finish my RV-8 empennage kit and order my wing kit. Like many of you, I'm a space challenged builder. I've got one-half of a two-car garage to work in, and I haven't decided whether to build both wings at the same time or one at a time. I understand the benefits of simultaneous wing building, but it could be quite cramped. Whichever I choose, I'm short storage space. I came across a great deal for a nice 10'x12' building I can put in my back yard. It's got nice big double doors, and it's well vented and weatherproof. My question is how long in the longest wing part for storage purposes, and how long is a completed wing? Will a cradle with 2 wings fit in a 10'x12' space?

Thanks in advance for help in this matter...

Todd Farnsley
My Kitlog website

Todd,

My wing cradle with two wings on it is 9'7" long by 3' wide and 5'9" tall, with no tips on the wings. The new type tips will add slightly less than 19" to the total length. My airplane is an RV-8.

Pat

Minimum space, maximum storage

Toddav8r said:
...............I'm short storage space. I came across a great deal for a nice 10'x12' building I can put in my back yard. It's got nice big double doors, and it's well vented and weatherproof. My question is how long in the longest wing part for storage purposes, and how long is a completed wing? Will a cradle with 2 wings fit in a 10'x12' space?...........
Todd Farnsley
Todd,
The wings should certainly fit into a 10'x12' space.