tim.randles

It seems that introductory threads are a standard part of the VAF forum experience, so...

Hi! I've been dreaming of building an RV for around 10 years and lurking on the VAF site for as long as it's been around. I finally decided that if I didn't actually purchase a kit and start building that I'd never have an RV to fly. Van's duly cashed my check and sent me an RV-7 empennage kit. Hopefully I can begin the seemingly endless cycle of drilling and deburring holes this weekend.

When I get frustrated by the process I'll be sure to complain here, since it's largely due to this community's existence that I've decided to take the plunge. Van's has no greater advocate for the RV series of kitplanes than the extremely welcoming VAF community.

Cheers!
Tim

Last edited:
Welcome. I'm only a few months ahead of you and have already been very frustrtated, but all in all it's great. Best of luck!

Welcom

I finally decided that if I didn't actually purchase a kit and start building that I'd never have an RV to fly.

Well said.

Welcome to the building community. Have fun, it's quite an adventure.

Welcome!!

Welcome to our world. For guys like me, that work with our hands, it is a most rewarding experience to build one. I have found that it will cost way more money, and take way more time than you figured, and with that being said, way more fun to build

Good Luck!!:

Frustration?