Skyflyer

Well Known Member
Friend
I am a new RV8 builder close to completing the empennage and have taken delivery of the QB wings and fuselage. This question is really water-over-the-dam at this point but I thought I would throw it out there anyway. I have been touch-up priming the powder coated steel parts after drilling, by masking and spraying SW 988 into the holes. I have no illusions about the effectiveness of this procedure. When assembling it may be necessary to use a small drift to align parts and I know the primer likely gets worn off such that aluminum and steel are closely apposed. Is anyone worried about eventual dissimilar metal corrosion at these important joints? If so how are you dealing with it? I will put all good suggestions in my "Next time I'm gonna do..." box.

By the way, I am looking for TC's in the Sugar Land, TX area willing to have a look at things so far.

Chuck McCluggage

Hello Chuck,

I think you have already answered your own question - the fasteners in the holes are going to wear off what you sprayed in. But you haven't done any harm, and it shows that you are trying to be pretty meticulous, which is a good attitude.

Have you attended any of the Houston RV Builder's Group get-togethers yet? It's a good group of folks that get together once a month - tomorrow it will be down in Wharton. You can check the thread on the South Texas part of these forums. It pays to have lots of local contacts to have others look at your work, and maybe borrow a few specialty tools now and again!

I'm a TC, I live over in the Clear Lake area - we might be able to swing a visit sometime - give me a PM if you're interested.

Paul

on spots like this

i have painted them after assy as well, to prevent the intrusion of water.i do use a top coat (glossy) paint for this though over primer.

Boeshield?