rv969wf

Well Known Member
What are other RV's seeing there IAS or GPS cruising speeds on there RV's at say 23" MAP x 2,450 rpm at 3,000 ft MSL compared to running at 28.7" MAP x 2,680 rpm at the same altitude of 3,000ft MSL???? What I'm seeing with my -6 is either engine/prop or reduced drag, or all the above. My feelings are mixed and I'd like to see what others are seeing as I've been testing a lot of things and NO I'm not an engineer, but would like to know if anyone else is coming up with the same speed increases from cruise to Wide Open Throttle and Max RPM with a constant speed prop at the 3,000ft MSL range.

I was indicating today 185mph at 23" x 2,450rpm x 3,000ft MSL burning 10gph in Very smooth nice 65F air.

Cranked the -6 up to full throttle and was seeing 28.7" MAP x 2,680 rpm x 3,000 MSL and burning 18 gph. Same smooth air and indicating 214mph. All testing done with alltitude and heading autopilot on for 5 miles each.

29 mph speed gain between Cruise and Wide open throttle. No I don't fly my -6 wide open and max rpm all the time, only on takeoff a few times if needed, just curious what others are seeing with the same apples and apples test.

Yep I'm aware IAS is not always correct but the GPS ground speeds verified the 29 mph average gain.

Do most RV's increase 29 mph with these conditions?????? Or is this normal or behind the curve?????? Nope I'm not a racer!! But I'm sure the racers out there might give me a clue if this is norm, good or great, engine whatever. I'm just asking as I don't know. Any response would be great. AJ :)

Last edited:
I don't think that is typical