alpinelakespilot2000

Well Known Member
I seem to remember a thread a while back that pointed to a couple really good sources for overhauled or midtime engines, but can't find it now.

If you were going to buy a mid-time or overhauled 0-320, to whom would you go? I'm aware of the big places. For example, I know that I could go to salvage yard like Wentworth or even pick up an overhaul from a manufacturer like Aerosport. What I'm really seeking information about though is WHO (as in individuals) have you found that really know the market and are reliable, trustworthy, and would give you great advice and help find the appropriate engine (particularly midtimes) at a reasonable price? I know some good midtimes are out there, but just don't know how to find them and I'm no expert on a/c engines by any stretch.

I know many will recommend just buying a new engine from Van's, Mattituck, or Aerosport (and probably have some good reasons to do so), but I'm building in a whole different financial league than some who might give this advice, even if it is more by purpose than necessity.

Thoughts appreciated.

I have seen this thread below, but only a couple names appear on the first page then it devolves into a general discussion on midtimes...
http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=5247&highlight=0-320

Last edited:
I watched the wnetworth website,and Barnstormers.com.

I also waited for the right deal. I ended up finding a local engine done after its first run. The advantage with that is that you can typically find a few locals who know the full/true story, as well as look it over and look the other party in the eye.

Worked well for me, everything ended up as represented.

Good engine hunting