First off, I am new to VAF and am an inspiring RV-7A owner. A little background: I am an aviation electrician (AE2) in the Navy and I currently work on the MH-60S helicopter. I have been working on helos for 4 years now so I know my way around avionics and electrical systems in regards to those weird planes with spinning wings on their heads. Through reading some of the threads around here I found out that Pro-Seal is our beloved 8802 potting that is used to seal EVERYTHING on these aircraft, fuel components or not, so I figured I would be nice and give a little back to the VAF community.

Pro-Seal, or more commonly known as 8802 for those of us that wear clothes with things on our collar that establish how big our ego is, is a chemical that smears onto everything and dries to a rubbery like substance that peels off somewhat nicely on smooth surfaces. 8802 takes 24 hours to properly cure in your average 60-70*F environment with low humidity. In my experience I have noticed that the more humid the air is, the longer 8802 takes to cure. When in doubt, tell maintenance control it needs more time and go back to surfing VAF while you wait.

When working with 8802 remember this one tip: it will get on anything you DON'T want 8802 on and it WILL NOT come out of clothes in a reasonable amount of time. Go buy a pair of coveralls and wear shoes (preferrably leather boots) that you dont care about.

Some application tips:

After you have mixed the 8802 squeeze what you need into a ziploc bag and lop off a corner much like a frosting thing that Martha Stewert uses to make pretty things on cakes. This makes it way super duper easier to apply versus using a popsicle stick or any other method. When you are done you just chuck it into the nearest HAZMAT CONTAINER (this stuff isn't enviro healthy) and go about your day.