Nomex Maximus

Well Known Member
I'd like to see what RV builders/pilots think about this. Garmin and Avidyne make nice flight display systems. But where will companies like them be in say, ten years? What products do you think they will be developing? What more can be done in the way of new and improved glass cockpits for GA or for that matter, for airliners?

I am sort of asking because if I were looking for a new job as an avionics software engineer, I sort of wonder if we haven't pretty much gotten glass cockpits just about as far as they have any practical need to go. The G1000 system (nice system, I just got trained on it for CAP) is already certified and flying - so what else is there for Garmin to do other than keep manufacturing them? Same for Avidyne or any other glass cockpit manufacturers.

Your thoughts???

--NTM

Beware the predictions of the future...

640K ought to be enough for anybody.
-- Bill Gates 1981

I sort of wonder if we haven't pretty much gotten glass cockpits just about as far as they have any practical need to go
-- Nomex Maximus 2008

things like synthetic vision for example.... stuff that's already on the horizon, plus even more stuff you can't think of yet cause noone's dreamed it up :)

Dreamin'

If I'm dreamin' of a future cockpit, I'm thinking about convenience and safety, so how about...

...coupled EFIS with radar altimeter for cross-checking?

...more and better built-in redundancy and cross-checking?

...flight plan optimization for weather/fuel/winds (the cockpit version of Weathermeister that Dan's probably already working on :)?

...filing and updating/changing flight plans done in the cockpit and transmitted as data, not by voice?

...data logging of all EFIS & EMS parameters being continuously transmitted to my internet logging program, kind of a 'net based "black box"?

...similar data transmission to ATC (hopefully by my choice, not enforced by 'the man')?