Bushcaddy

Well Known Member
I have my magnetos out for the carbon brush replacement. After reading up on that I figured I would have to retime them so I looked into that. One of the guides I found stated "be careful when removing or reinstalling the magnetos because the rubber isolators may fall off into the accessory case". I had already removed the magnetos :( and can find no evidence of rubber isolators on them. I can't see inside the holes on the accessory case because I have just enough room to remove the magnetos. Slick publication L-1363 makes no mention of these isolators. The Lycoming overhaul manual shows a diagram (4.1) of some "rubber cushions" on a mag that looks nothing like my slick 4370 or 4381. So my question is: are these isolators on slick mags? If I don't see them on my removed mags are they likely inside the accessory case somewhere? I can't imagine that something that would fall off so easily would be in such a position:mad:

I'm no expert, but I've installed 2 different sets of Slicks on airplanes. I have never seen anything like you are describing.

Nah... it's time to...

Time for an inspection mirror and a flashlight...

..get a Parts Catalog for the engine.

My Lycoming O-360 parts catalog for the Wide Deck "A" series only shows the cushions on the right magneto for the -A4A and -A4J engines.

The engines that use the cushions also have an "Adapter Assembly" for the right magneto, which appears to look like the spacer for an impulse coupler. However, the cushions appear on the non-impulse magneto.

All of the other "A" dash numbers should have no cushions to drop...:)

ABOVE IS FOR THE RV GUYS....

I forgot Don has a O-235...:)

None of the dash numbers appear to use drive cushions...

Last edited:
OK...I'm off the ledge now

You guys are the best. Thanks for helping me keep my lunch down:D

Gil, you have a good memory...O-235 L2C it is.