RKellogg

Well Known Member
Help!
I am connecting SL30 serial (RS232) to SkyView harness. The SL30 has a pin for "serial ground" for the shield ground braid. The SkyView manual makes no mention of a serial ground. What should the serial ground be connected to at the SkyView harness? I am out of ground connections at the SV 37-pin harness connections.
Thanks for any help, it would be nice to get this right the first time... Maybe this is common knowledge, couldn't find it on search.
- Roger

Easy, just ignore it. Not required in our small aircraft.

May be true to a degree, however serial lines can generate noise (usually in audio systems) especially if the lines run parallel in the same bundle. Best practice is to keep them sheilded unless they are very short runs and not bundled with senstive equipment. If the unit is out of pins just ground the shield as close the connector as possible.
Just my opinion.

Well, I'm a rookie...but I ran twisted shielded pairs between my Dynon and serial devices, with the shield grounded to the connector backshells on both ends.

Also, I made sure the cases of everything (Dynon, radio rack, components, shelf) were all grounded together with actual wire runs.

No problems with data transmission or audio noise.

Last edited:
RS-232

Thanks for the thoughtful responses! You guys are what makes VAF so valuable.