paulfer

I'm New Here
Hi Guys

I'm a newbie here. I have just started on my 8 and have never used these 12 inch drill bits before. So, in my infinite wisdom, I have cocked up! I think.

The plans called for me to use the long drill bit to drill thru HS810-1 and the HS404/405/FWD HS702 spar. Well, on my first hole, i drilled a bit skew. Not knowing exactly how to hold the condounded drill bit! So now, that rivet, which i havent riveted yet, sits a bit skew.

Do i just go ahead an rivet that rivet in skew, or order a whole new HS 810-1 reinforcing angle??

If i do rivet this rivet as is. Any advice as how to hit it. Do i hit the thing in line with the rivet shaft or parallel to the spar/reinformcing plate?

Regds

Skewed Rivet Hole

In general, the rivet must be driven perpendicular to both the structure and the rivet shaft. If the hole isn't straight the rivet head will not sit properly on the surface...when you hit it with the rivet gun the rivet head will probably crack since one edge of the rivet head/shaft will make solid contact with the structure and the other edge won't.

I had a similar problem (same parts, same holes) except that I was using an angle drill attachment for the first time...lesson learned: don't try out a new tool on the RV parts! I now have a small pile of scrap aluminum for practice.

I decided to order new parts, but a search here on VAF will show a number of opinions (such as drilling an oversize hole and using an AN series bolt instead of a rivet). This might work if you have sufficient edge clearance on the parts for a larger hole...in my case I did not.

If in doubt, call Van's.

Good luck,
Mike

Do i just go ahead an rivet that rivet in skew, or order a whole new HS 810-1 reinforcing angle??.....If i do rivet this rivet as is.......
Paul,