sf3543

Well Known Member
I have never used the Silicone Baffle material before, but am installing it on my RV8.
My question to the group is: Will the silicon baffle material eventually take a set to a more bent over state, like the reinforced materials did?
My installation looks great and provides a good seal once the cowling is on, but the rear pieces stick straight up and it is difficult to get the cowl on. I have 1 1/2 " of material above the baffle edges.
Any of your experiences would be appreciated. If it remains this difficult, I'll go back to the material supplied by VAN's, but thought I'd try this since I like the blue color.

I helped a friend with his Glastar. He was having a devil of a time getting a good seal with the blue stuff on his (100ish hour) airplane. He switched to the van's black stuff and the problem was solved - good tight seal in just a few hours.

YMMV ;-)

It should bend over with time, but not the extent that the black stuff does. On the other hand, it will last longer.

look at other projects

My advice is surface the web for builder sites to see how to do the seals, this is almost more important than what material to use. However the pure silicone material is better than vans black rubber fiber material provided. The silicone is not cheap but it will last and not take a set.

A good list of builders can be found on Van's web site under links. Also don't just look at the model you have. All RV's have the same baffle seal set up. Most builders have a engine/firewal-fwd/finish section on their site. Look at as many as you can. Even the Harmon Rockets and F-1 Rocket web sites have great pictures of how to do soft baffle seals.