dlomheim

Well Known Member
I have read all I can find on using the SIKA product to secure my canopy to the slider frame. Before I jump in and do this I was wondering if some of you who have "gone before" could post some of your "lessons learned" or things you'd do differently the next time...

Thanks for your information.

Doug Lomheim
RV-9A; 90116
Finishing

I too, am very interested in this product!

I found this WIKI on the subject and have been noodling over it for the past week or so.

What I was wondering is, how do you get the stuff to tool down nice and flat like in this picture along the forward edge?

Forward_Sikaflex_fairing.jpg

I see on the tech sheet that there is a tooling compound or something, but I have never used anything like that before. What is the deal? How is it used?

Doug, good question! I am looking forward to hearing the answers!

:) CJ

Captain_John said:
I am looking forward to hearing the answers!

Do a few searches on "Canopy Gluing" (and variations on that theme) and you will find that many of the answers are already here! This has been discussed a lot in the past.

My experience

You will find my thoughts here. Look at the May through June '07 entries.

It sands quite well if you leave it several days first. I guess that is how the shape was made in the picture on the second entry below.

You wont regret doing it that way.

What I was wondering is, how do you get the stuff to tool down nice and flat like in this picture along the forward edge?