Camillo

Well Known Member
Hi. I bought a strobe power pack from Creativair. I ordered a kit for 3 strobe lights. It came with 60' of shielded #22AWG wire (CAROL (R) 22AWG -- C251 7A -- 75C E111240-8 CM(UL) C(UL) CMH.

For the distance of the 9A, I calculated a 14AWG wire. 22AWG is far lower than 14. Shall the voltage drop be calculated only from bus to power pack? If so, each single wire run from power pack to strobe light will be OK with #22AWG and only the main unshielded wire would be a wider size. Or shall I use #14AWG shielded wire for all the high voltage wire routing?

Thanks.
Camillo

If you are talking about a Wheelen strobe system, the shielded wire is used between the power pack and each strobe flash tube. The Wheelen web site has a good set of documentation for their units.

I have no experience with other brands...

Strobe wiring

I concur with 'noelf' - the shielded wire is to connect the flash tubes to the power supply. The 'high voltage' is very short (milliseconds) so the 22AWG wire will work fine.
As you suspect, the voltage calculations should be from the bus to the power supply, and those wires don't need to be shielded.

Yes, it is the Whelen system. Although I read Bob's book a few times, there are still aspect that are not obvious to me!
Thanks.
Camillo